Sights & Attractions
DailyOperating time: 06.00 - 18.00
Amphoe Mueang, Nan
Tel. 0 5475 1846.
Category : Temple
Attraction Details :
Wat Phrathat Chae Haeng is a sacred place of worship, situated on a mound on the eastern side of the Nan River, at the former centre of the Nan town after moving from Pua town. Wat Phra Borommathat Chae Haeng was constructed during the rule of Chao Phraya Kanmueang (the Feudal Lord of Nan during 1326 – 1359) as an enshrining venue of 7 Buddha relics, silver and golden votive tablets presented by King Maha Thammaracha Lithai on the occasion that Chao Phraya Kanmueang assisted in the construction of Wat Luang Aphai (Wat Pa Mamuang in Sukhothai Province at present) in 1354.
It features a chedi in a bell shape. The pattern of Phrathat Chae Haeng is assumed to have been influenced by the chedi of Phrathat Hariphunchai. It is plated with Thong Changko or Thong Dok Buap – a combination of brass and copper. The staircase up to the Phrathat is in a Naga shape, while the gable above the entrance gate to the wihan is the stucco relief depicting intertwined Nagas, the unique characteristic of Nan fine art.
Phra Borommathat Chae Haeng represents the Year of the Rabbit. Lanna people believe that travelling to pay respect to the Phrathat of their Year of Birth or “Chu That” would reap them great results. Tourists can visit the temple everyday from 6.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m.
To get there: Wat Phrathat Chae Haeng is located in Muang Tuet sub-district, King Amphoe Phu Phiang. From the centre of Mueang district, cross the Nan River Bridge and go along the Nan – Mae Charim route or on Highway No. 1168 for 3 kilometres. Contact the temple at Tel. 0 5475 1846.